Stuff Portrait Friday – The Cooky Neighbors Saga

Sorry it has been a whole week since I posted, I found when I finally got back from my vacation I had a lot of catching up to do, and I honestly didn’t have much to blog about. I have to get permission from my family to post my vacation pics.

So SPF is brought to us by Kristine, and this week we need neighborhood eyesores, interesting signs, and a picture taken secretly. Anway, I mentioned my cooky hippie nature-loving neighbors before during this post about the block party from hell where I met my other racist neighbors. Well, their backyard qualifies as both a neighborhood eyesore and a goofy sign. They only have a teensy tiny yard with about 20 foot of property line that backs up against my back yard and a bit that borders my other new neighbor. Here’s the scene:

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

You may notice in the left corner is a private property sign staring me in the face. That marks one corner of their yard. Then in the far right corner is another private property sign pointed at my neighbor’s house. Here’s a closeup of that one.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Note the pinwheel directly in front of it. Placed there across the property line by the neighbor in the new house who didn’t want to look at the sign. These two signs went up AFTER we moved in. Prior to our houses being built there was a wild empty field and the hippie neighbors loved to feed all the animals that hung out there. Squirrels, bunnies, and maybe the occasional deer. They are pissed that their open lot is now my yard. This sign was there before I moved in.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

That’s right, their itsy bitsy yard is a certified wildlife habitat. Whatever. Anyway, they are in a few with our other neighbor, the guy who sold the lot my house is on, over the real eyesore, his contractor’s equipment.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

That’s my house behind his stupid truck. His equipment isn’t always around, he is doing some work clearing other lots in the neighborhood to prepare for more houses. There are backhoes and bobcats and all sorts of stuff around. It’s a bit annoying. I plan to build a big fence or bushline to hide the view of his AND the cooky neighbor’s yards.

Ok, now for some funny signs I found around town. This one I just thought was weird. There’s something off about “cool stools”.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

And this guy must be missing a “K” or something. That sign is always like that.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

And my most favorite sign that just popped up a few blocks from my house, a super trendy and cool new microbrewery/resturant chain is adding a location right down the street.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

I can’t WAIT till it’s done. This should definately raise the cool factor of my town.

And a picture taken surreptitiously when Nate was only a few days old and sleep was hard to come by. I can’t believe it’s been almost a whole year since that was taken!

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

14 responses to this post.

  1. the last photo is adorable! it’s such a classic father and child moment!

    Reply

  2. Oh my gosh I love doing karaote!!

    The last pic is adorable!!

    Reply

  3. Aw, I love those baby/daddy pics. So sweet!

    Reply

  4. Such a sweet daddy baby pic!

    Cool SPF!:-)

    Reply

  5. you have a lot of great sign pictures. i love the pinwheel thing too. gotta love the hippies, huh?

    Reply

  6. The fountain inn brings back memories. We lived in P-ville for about 3 years before we bought our house. Two of my husbands siblings live there still. His sister lives near the Fountain.

    Iron Hill Brewery is going to rock.

    Reply

  7. I love the cool stools sign…but that’s just my sick sense of humor. As a mother of a toddler and infant poop makes my world go ’round!

    I played at The Kept Woman

    Reply

  8. Heh heh . . . cool stools. Your pic and mine make a good pair today.

    Love the pic of Nate and his daddy. Totally sweet.

    P.S. Sorry I haven’t done the music meme yet. If I can come up with ten songs, I will though!

    Reply

  9. I just LOVE sleeping baby/daddy pics! I’m so sorry about your neighbor situ. I see a very tall fence in your future.

    Reply

  10. I forgot how tiny he was. It’s amazing we didn’t break him.

    Reply

  11. I think you have the best sign pics so far…I think we should do sign pics more often for SPF. They’re flippin’ hilarious!!!

    Reply

  12. That last pic brought back some memories for me. Since mine are 10 and 7 now those moments look a little bit different. *lol*

    Love the ‘sign wars’ going on. That has the makings of lots of material for posting.

    Reply

  13. That picture is a precious moment!

    Reply

  14. Trying to catch up on my reading while I was away. Saw the picture of the Iron Hill Brewery. Very cool place. I ate there last tues. Good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

