Please Make the Ugliness Stop!

I am so sick and tired of all the political mudslinging going on since the Katrina disaster. It was bad enough before that, but the slow relief response has made it a thousand times worse. I am usually a bit of a political junkie, following the news closely and listening to the various pundits and talking heads. But right now I can’t stand it. I just read an op-ed from the typically bitter Maureen Dowd that a friend emailed me and it has pushed me over the edge. I wish people would just shut up and get to work helping out. Stop playing the blame-game and rushing to form your little congressional investigations and get your ass to ground zero. Put your money where you mouth is. You’d better believe I will. I’d like to see more political leaders in waders looking for victims or in jeans handing out food.

New Orleans was a great town that I have visited many times in recent years. It was the home of the best food anywhere, hands down. You can’t find a bad meal there. But it was pretty screwed up. The atmosphere of indulgence and depravity permeated the town. I admit that I enjoyed that a little too much. And it didn’t take much to learn about the horrible corruption of the local government and the extreme poverty and lack of education. I’m sure it will never be the same, but I have some hope that it may be a better place than it was.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Wholeheartedly agree. I have had to stop watching nat’l news altogether. I can only handle my local efforts anyway, and at least it’s much more good and hopeful than bad and finger-pointing.

    Reply

  2. I totally agree with on this. So far evey one is saying, “So and so Dropped the ball.” Meanwhile no one is acually picking up the ball.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

