>All Better

>Ok, so he’s not completely healthy, but he’s good enough to send to daycare. She has never said she minded having him when he has a cough and a runny nose, and when I told her about the diaper rash and advised avoiding wipes she agreed. When I put Nathan down at Home Daycare Lady’s house this morning, he took a few steps away, looked back with a big grin, and then took off running towards the other kids. That warms my heart.

I have multiple topics I wish to write about briefly today:

1. It turns out my yoga class is officially taught by Jen, the yoga-nazi. Mark, the yoga hottie, was simply substituting while Jen had an MSG induced headache, caused by visiting a new Chinese place. She said “MSG is a neuro-toxin, which I hadn’t injested in years…stay away from it!” I actually already knew this because my boss gets bad MSG-induced migraines and avoids Chinese food altogether. On a positive note, Mark did attend my yoga class and placed his mat right in front of mine. However he appeared to be flirting with “girl-who-barely-speaks-English”.

2. At the grocery store on Monday I got in line behind the ultimate “granola-boy”. I didn’t know such people actually lived in my town, I thought they mainly resided on college campuses and out west. I glanced down at his groceries and was overwhelmed by the wholesomeness. Tons of produce, soy milk, every can of whatever in the store marked “organic”. Including actual granola. The only meat I saw were two small tins of anchovies. Yes, anchovies. I glanced back at my groceries as I placed them on the belt. Pepsi, lots of meat, potato chips, processed cookies, cake mix in a box, icing in a can, and every other ultra-processed or preserved food under the sun. I felt no shame. I felt sorry for Organic Boy.

3. This morning on the radio I heard a guy explaining with great enthusiasm how Philadelphia is the best contender in the US to bid for the 2016 Olympic Games. Yes, Philly. In typical Philly attitude, the host of the show and I both said out loud “are you nuts?” He claims to have done the extensive research and they will be publishing the facts in Philadelphia magazine soon. I think it would be pretty cool, but we Philadelphians are known for our “can’t do” attitudes. We all love living here, but we forget what we have to offer the rest of the world in terms of reasons to come visit. We actually do have lots of cool stuff. Oh yeah, and history. There’s a commerical out now about how if you think Cheesesteaks is all Philly has to offer, you must be from New York.

4. I have posted before about how I love PA Senator Rick Santorum, how I campaigned for him in college, and how I had dinner with him a couple years ago. I thought he had blown his chance at reelection in PA due to some extremely conservative comments he’s made (which I happen to agree with) in recent years. Now I think he still has a shot, because I have been watching and listening to his opponent, Bob Casey Jr. Everyone thought Casey was a shoe-in because he’s a very conservative Democrat, including being pro-life. Everyone in PA loved his father, who was the governor several years back. But this guy AIN’T his pop. He has no backbone, no leadership skills. He still, today, refuses to give his opinion on Judge Sam Alito as a SCOTUS nominee. The hearings are over, the facts on Alito are out. Every other Senator has a clear position, but Casey is waiting for the vote to see where he stands. Wuss.

3 responses to this post.

  1. >Glad all is well with the boy. PS. I could tell you but then I would have to kill you đŸ˜‰

    Reply

  2. >Glad that the peanut is feeling better.My current aim in life is to be more like that Granola Boy. I have slowly but surely been weeding out as much processed foods in our diet as possible. I’ve been buying tons of organic stuff (eggs, ketchup, tomato paste, chicken stock) at Genuardis.I’m one step away from shopping at Whole Foods, but Devon is just too far a drive from Limerick on a regular basis.

    Reply

  3. >We have more to offer than just Cheesesteaks. We have Tastycakes too.Nobody bakes a cake as tasty as a Tastycake.

    Reply

Leave a comment