>SPF – Wave of Modulation style

>Kristine’s theme for this week’s SPF is based on the photoblog Wave of Modulation. I too LOVE Sheryl’s photography, and I am lately becoming a Flickr whore. (check out my latest photos here) I spend more time looking at awesome photography and trying to duplicate it than I do updating myself on y’all’s lives by visiting your blogs. Sorry bout that. Blame Norton the Nikon.

Anyway our assignment was:
1. Something discarded
2. Something ugly on the ground and make it look beautiful
3. A photo in the style of someone you admire

I didn’t have a lot of time so my photos for numbers one and two are the same. But I couldn’t choose which photos I liked best, and I could spend forEVER treating these photos to make them even cooler.

And finally I am inspired by lots of photographers on Flickr, especially Kristine and Shaun, .serena., shutterblog, and Angela who take awesome photos of kids. But more than any of them I am inspired by ieatcrayonz, because she is so much like me in so many ways and because of that and her blog I feel I can call her a friend. Our kids are the same age and we are both engineers bursting to let out our creative sides. She helped me out a lot when buying Norton too. I am inspired by her and other moms (like Kristine and Kami) who have turned their passion for photography into a small business. Maybe someday I will get paid for my pictures too. For now I’m just happy to fulfill my mom’s request for some artistic beach photos to hang in her new beachhouse.

This photo shoot to capture the joys of pregnancy was inspired by ‘Yonz from a shoot she did here. I was just jealous of the model’s lack of stretch marks!

I SERIOUSLY would like everyone’s critical opinion on my photos in general. Anything I can learn to make them better, any different angle I can try, I want to hear about it. Also please tell me which penny shot you like best! Thanks!!

26 responses to this post.

  1. >Very cool pics! I love them all. I’ve got no technical advice because I’m still pretty new at the picture-taking too. But, these are all good photos in my opinion.Happy SPF! I played too.

    Reply

  2. >I like the 4th penny shot.Not sure why, its just the one that grabs me the most :)Happy SPF!

    Reply

  3. >Thanks Michelle, that’s what I want to hear…what grabs people the most.

    Reply

  4. >ooh, I love the 3rd penny shot…all cool but that one stands out for me – seeing Abe’s corroded head and stuff 😉 nice job with the macro! I’m just starting to experiment with digital effects, what did you do to treat them? I played 🙂

    Reply

  5. >I also like the 4th penny shot!I really want to learn to use my camera as well! So let me know when you want to take that class!

    Reply

  6. >Great penny shots. I hope to have a camera capable of such shots some day… oh wait, maybe I just need the right lens!I played at The Ramble Room.

    Reply

  7. >all good shots! I think I like the 3rd one too, can see the date and the details and that it’s all beat up.

    Reply

  8. >I like the last penny shot best, but they are all great!

    Reply

  9. >I like the second penny shot best. I love that crack in the concrete beside it.

    Reply

  10. >Those are great! I love the last one!I played!

    Reply

  11. >I can’t decide between the 3rd and 4th ones which one I like best. They are both different and cool.You did such a great job with the belly picture. What did you use for a background?I hope to find someone that will let me take one of them one of these days!Thanks for stopping by and seeing that I played!

    Reply

  12. >My advice is just wait until you find out what your talent is.there are a zillion ways to take a picture..but finding what YOUR talent is a true blessing.I’m not a sports photographer. I can do it, but it doesn’t make me feel alive when I do it.Making someone feel beautiful and WORTHY of having their picture taken is what makes me feel good.Shaun’s talent is fearlessness when it comes to taking pictures.You’ll do fine. It took me a year, but I found it. I hope you find yours sooner.Thank you so much for all your suppoert!

    Reply

  13. >i like the angle in the first one and that last one provides so much texture & dimension! your pregnancy shot is beautiful too. i love how you captured the tenderness between mother & unborn child.thanks for stopping by my blog too. =)

    Reply

  14. >Penny SHot #2.

    Reply

  15. >I like the fourth penny photo the best. The angle on that one is just really great, and the detail of destruction on the penny just looks really great on that one. They are all great, but that’s my favorite.I played too

    Reply

  16. >Wonderful pics. I’m torn between 1 & 4. 4 is more ambigiuous as you can’t tell exactly what it is.

    Reply

  17. >Question: Is that the penny that has been laying in our driveway for weeks? Did you pick it up or leave it there after you took the picture?

    Reply

  18. >Great pics.Um, a pg belly and no stretch marks just ain’t right.

    Reply

  19. >Beautiful shots with the new toy! This spring I took a course through Chester County Night School, and it was pretty good. I learned a lot, but there wasn’t a lot of critiquing–I suppose that’s common in a community ed. class, though.Have you checked out Photodoto?

    Reply

  20. >#4 is my favourite because part of it is clear and part unfocused and because you kind of know what it is but are not totally sure.

    Reply

  21. >Aw, you turd monkey! You made me cry.You did a fab job on the penny. Bravo!And I still love, love that pregnancy photo.

    Reply

  22. >Sharkey, thanks for the tip on CC Night School! I’ll have to check that out. I have checked out Photodoto…pretty cool! Yonz…Turd Monkey, Huh?! I believe that is the ultimate compliment! I am so honored. =)

    Reply

  23. >I so love those photos. There is something about pregnant women that is so pretty.And, yeah. Where are the stretch marks? No fair!

    Reply

  24. >it’s hard to believe that penny is as new as it is.

    Reply

  25. >Who would have thought a penny could be so lovely?And the mom to be is just beautiful.I played too

    Reply

  26. >after going back several times, I think I like the last one best…it gives you more depth than the other shots.I’m a flickr whore too!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

