>Homemaking Meme

>My friend over at Musings of a Housewife did this meme that kinda cracked me up.

I’m not really much of a housewife. I’m home a LOT, since I work from home, and only part time, but I suck at the housewifely duties. Especially now, that I’m pregnant. I didn’t cook (except for the holidays) for almost the whole first trimester because of the nausea and food aversions. The exhaustion and barfiness often led me to lay around on the couch complaining (or napping). Now the barfiness is gone but I have new symptoms, like indigestion and mega pain that makes it hurt to move, and hurt to sit. So my motivation to clean is still not there. I’m actually seriously considering finally budgeting in a cleaning lady, but Mike thinks that would be wasteful. However, he gets very stressed when the house is a mess, which is always is these days. His stress leads to my stress, and so forth.

But really I do some stuff. So here ya go:

Aprons- Y/N? I asked for a Williams Sonoma one for Xmas and got it. Then I asked Mike to hang a hook on the wall for it, but I’m still waiting for that.

Baking- Favorite thing to bake? Chocolate chip cookies. Or maybe brownies from a box, because I love to lick the batter.

Clothesline- Y/N? I dry almost everything but I have a nice little drying rack that sits in the hall to dry all the delicates.

Donuts- Ever made them? No. Dunkin Donuts all the way.

Everyday- One homemaking thing you do everyday? Not sure I really have one. Does changing diapers count?

Freezer- Do you have a separate deep freezer? No. I wish.

Garbage Disposal- Y/N? Who doesn’t?

Handbook- Y/N? Yeah right. Is this the 50’s?

Ironing- Love it or hate it? Hate it. Everything goes to the cleaners. Everything that would need to be ironed.

Junk Drawer- Where is it? One under the phone, and one to the left of the sink. Plus a basket FULL of junk paper, like coupons and credit cards and mail worth saving.

Kitchen- Design and decorating? Didn’t pick it but I love my maple cabinets. If I could I would replace the floor with tile and replace the counters with granite. We STILL haven’t painted, so the walls are all builder’s white.

Love- What is your favorite part of homemaking? None of the above. I guess vacuuming would be my least dreaded task.

Mop- Y/N? This is a question? Actually I don’t mop, my husband does. I stink at it, so he takes care of it.

Nylons- Wash them by hand or in the washer? Washer. Don’t wear them much, but they go right in the washer. Then on the aforementioned drying rack.

Oven- Do you use the window or open it to check? Open.

Pizza- What do you put on yours? Pineapple.

Quiet- What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment? Lately? Nap.

Recipe card box- Y/N? Yep. My grandmother’s. Plus all kinds of loose scraps of paper shoved into cookbooks. Which explains why I could not find my awesome spinach salad recipe for my sister today. Drat!

Style of house- Mid-atlantic two-story colonial. Stone front. Very pretty but needs a bit of style added, in AND out.

Tablecloths and napkins- Y/N? Frequently use cloth tableclothes, but not always. Usually use paper napkins, except for good company.

Under the kitchen sink- Dog foor and cleaning supplies.

Vacuum- How many times a week? Maybe once. If I’m ambitious.

Wash- How many loads do you do a week? Hm…I’d say maybe 3-6. I don’t mind laundry too much.

X’s- Do you keep a list of things to do and cross them off? Job related, not house related.

Yard- Who does what? That’s all Mike.

ZZZ’s- What is your last homemaking task for the day? Folding the pile of laundry on the bed, so we can get in it.

3 responses to this post.

  1. >Loved this! Although I am embarrassed to admit that I totally don’t have a garbage disposal, we have alot of housekeepy things in common!Here’s to lifting that pile of laundry off the bed at night!

    Reply

  2. >This is hysterical! I love it! I might even do it because even though I am not a homemaker I did all that shit when I worked full time and I still do alot of it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

