>The Second City

>

I’m back from my adventure in Chicago. It was a pretty good time, but the weather put a damper on a lot of activities. When I flew in on Wednesday the temperature was zero degrees with a wind chill of twenty below. Winds were gusting to 55 mph, but it was clear. My was staying at the Sheraton downtown hotel and towers, the building in the photo, and my room was on the 30th floor directly overlooking the frozen Chicago River and a frozen Lake Michigan. It was a very luxurious place, and thank goodness I did not have to go outside much at all.

I met a new friend for drinks at Pops Champagne Bar, which was very posh. She is a new mommy I met through an internet community for pregnant moms whose babies were all due the same month. She’s brilliant and funny, a journalist for the AP, and we had a total blast. Wish I could have spent even more than a couple hours with her.

Then I had an incredible dinner with a perfect 12 oz filet mignon, wine, and even more champagne to celebrate another friend’s retirement from our industry after 20 years. It was a long dinner and I enjoyed sitting with some old dear friends and getting to know some new ones, including the incoming president of my trade association. Then I met up with a few other “young professionals” and we went to two bars to scout a location for a huge party I throw at our annual conference in October. I got to bed about 1:30 Chicago time, but my internal alarm clock woke me up at 5am. That’s because I get up every day at 6am Eastern.

So I had an all day meeting Thursday, which was ok because the room was on the corner of the building facing the Lake and it had floor to ceiling windows on two sides so we could watch the snowstorm. We finished early so I got a nap before a reception and then dinner at the famous Harry Carey’s. We took a cab but still got snowed on pretty good. Then another all day meeting Friday. It stopped snowing midday Friday but there was probably at least 6 inches on the ground. We decided to walk to a tapas resturant for dinner, but it was farther than our local friend told us, and the sidewalks were a mess of slush and snow. I hadn’t waterproofed my new Uggs, so I tried my best to keep the sheepskin dry. Dinner was great but when the conversation turned to politics I was vastly outnumbered. After all, it’s Chicago, and I work in the environmental industry. The people I was dining with were all from either Chicago, California, Denver, New York, or Boston. All blue states.

I was up till 2am again that night selling and schmoozing, but this time I had to leave the hotel at 5am for my 7am flight. I made it, but I felt terrible. I have a sinus infection that refuses to go away and today it is really really bad. Flying with a sinus infection is a bad idea. If you’ve ever done it, you know why.

So here are a couple pics of the Chicago River outside my hotel. When I arrived the top was frozen solid but as the temp warmed up to a balmy 18 degrees, the ice melted and broke apart. It was cool to watch.

5 responses to this post.

  1. >Cool pics…sounds like you get to have a lot of fun on work trips. I’m jealous. :o) I am sad to say that I’ve never been to Chicago…and Detroit’s not that far away. I’ve gotta get the husband to plan a trip there with me.

    Reply

  2. >I love that second pic. Beautiful! Glad you had fun in Chicago. One of these days, I’m getting The Huz to take me along on his frequent business trips there…but in the spring or summertime!!

    Reply

  3. >Very Cool photos

    Reply

  4. >Sweet. That last one rocks. Totally airing out the trailer today because it’s a 100 degrees in here. Snow tomorrow. Will this insanity ever end!?

    Reply

  5. >Love the new haircut BTW!!!Chicago is such a great city to work in and visit. So much to do, but oh-so-cold in the winter! Glad you had a good time!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

