>Penny for your thoughts

>

I don’t know if I’ve ever really written about money on this here blog, so you probably didn’t know that I enjoy reading personal finance stuff, frugal living stuff, all kinds of money management blogs, books, magazines, etc. It’s a bit like a hobby to me, tracking where our spending goes, maximizing our savings and investments, finding ways to earn a bit on the side here or there. I’m very fortunate to have been raised with money-wise parents and grandparents, and my husband shares this value.

Part of it comes from earning substantial income as a babysitter and nanny from a very young age and not wasting it away. My dad taught me from the get go that if you don’t have money in the bank to back up a credit card purchase, don’t charge it. Part of it is a very foundational principle of chemical engineering…what goes in equals what goes out minus accumulation. Mass balance. This seems obvious, but not everybody gets it…even a lot of the civil engineers I work with every day (but that’s another story!). In college and shortly after I started using Quicken to track my money. It has this neat function that calculates your net worth. Watching that grow over the years motivates me. Probably a little too much sometimes. Money is just a tool after all, not something to be worshiped. But I am a planner and my plan includes paying for my kids’ college and retiring comfortably…even if God laughs at my plans I think He still wants us to plan.

So, this week I found a new blog and book I like, by Ramit Sethi, called I Will Teach You To Be Rich. I’m already rich in so many ways, but he has good advice anyhow. I found him through my friend Kelly, and that brings me to her blog, The Centsible Life. She’s celebrating her 1-year blogiversary and has lots of giveaways right now. Go check her out. Also there’s my dear friend Sarah, from Genesis Moments, who has been writing the Frugal Living column in my former hometown newspaper, the Phoenix. It’s good stuff.

One response to this post.

  1. >Thanks for the shout-out! I have started housing my frugal living articles over at DIYFrugal to keep them altogether.Learning self-control in money and calories is a life long goal, isn't it?! Always good to have reminders.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

