>Speak With Conviction

>I was recently reminded by some very gifted writers that if you get criticism, negativity and pushback on something you’ve written that’s a good thing.  That means you are speaking with conviction, writing something that matters to you, that you are passionate about.  Everybody wants to be liked, but writing only what everyone will like is boring.  Watch this incredible video. (H.T. Nick Skytland)

http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=3829682&server=vimeo.com&show_title=1&show_byline=1&show_portrait=0&color=&fullscreen=1
Typography from Ronnie Bruce on Vimeo.

This week I get the privilege of voting in the Republican primary of Texas.  I’m not especially happy about any of the three candidates for Governor, but I have decided to vote for Rick Perry.  Yes, he has his faults, but the fact remains that Texas has one of the strongest economies in the country and that happened under his watch and influence.  Business in Texas is booming for many reasons, the foremost of which is a hands-off attitude of state government.  Low taxes and lack of overbearing regulation are driving companies big and small to relocate to Texas, especially from the fiscal catastrophe that is California.  In this article by Ryan Streeter in the Journal of the American Enterprise Institute he explains what’s going on:

California, as everyone knows, has a coolness factor that Texas cannot match. Hollywood, Silicon Valley, and wine. Say no more. But, unless one has been living in a cave, everyone knows that the cool state is also the broke state. If Hollywood turned California’s budget and fiscal position into a movie, it would be a blockbuster horror film indeed. Texas, on the other hand, is growing, creating wealth, and attracting the entrepreneurial and creative classes that too many people think only go to places like New York and California.

I’ve seen this firsthand.  Not just businesses are coming, people without jobs are picking up and moving here because there are jobs here, and there are zero income taxes.  ZERO.  For me, that was like getting a 6% raise right there.  Not to mention housing is cheaper, food is cheaper, gas, etc.  Just this week, Facebook announced that it is expanding, not in it’s current home in Silicon Valley, but in a new office in Austin, TX.  That means 200 new tech jobs in Austin, a city with a deep talent pool of tech and marketing folks.  Houston has a booming tech scene too and I’m willing to bet I know at least one person who will move to Austin to work for Facebook.  

So why not Debra Medina?  I think most folks know of her incredible blunder during an interview with Glenn Beck in which she did not dismiss the 9/11 conspiracy theorists.  She’s just not ready.  My goofy grandmother says she will vote for Kay Bailey Hutchinson…because she’s a Pi Beta Phi sorority sister.  Yeah, my grandmother is not exactly an ocean of critical thought.  I originally thought I might vote for her but in the gubernatorial debate she waffled on the issue of aborition and that sealed my vote for Rick Perry.  She claims to be pro-life but would not say that supports overturning Roe vs. Wade.  Perry jumped on that and made sure his conviction was clear, which I appreciate. 

Whether or not you agree with me, I hope you can appreciate my conviction. 

3 responses to this post.

  1. >While I am not sure I agree with your choice (to be honest, I am still thinking about it myself), I do appreciate two things: First, you have taken the time to think about who you will vote for *before* going to the polls. Far too many people don't do this, and I truly think it is partially why we have the government we do. Second, you have come up with positive reasons to vote for Perry, as opposed to negative reasons to vote *against* his opponents. Again, this is a refreshing change from the usual political slash-and-burn fare.Now, as to the criticism: I hate to say this, but you are not going to ever make it as a poliblogger if you insist on writing this way! People don't want intelligent, reasoned thoughts, they want RED MEAT!~EdT.

    Reply

  2. >BTW, I pimped your post out on my blog, under the title Surely this is a sign of the Apocalypse! Unfortunately, Blogger won't allow me to put a trackback to an external blog.~EdT.

    Reply

  3. >Haha Ed you crack me up. I have no desire to "make it" as a poliblogger. My husband and I both started blogging during the 2004 Presidential campaign and we soon found out that trying to reason with some people via comments is just not possible. I'm trying to stay as far away from red meat as possible!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

