>Parenting Confessions

>


Brotherly Love
Originally uploaded by Mainline Mom

I have two confessions to make today. One involving each child. I know these situations are not unique to me, but certainly there are days when it doesn’t matter to me that millions of other mothers deal with these same things every day.

First of all, my five year old, Kindergartner, still wears pullups to bed. He stays dry many nights, but not all. About six months ago I made a sticker chart with rewards and put considerable effort into getting him to use the bathroom at night. It kind of worked, but we never made the next step to wearing underwear to bed. See, I am a lazy parent. My bedroom is on the first floor and my kids are on the second floor (and my staircase is EXTRA long). I do not like getting up in the middle of the night to climb up there and change sheets and clothes. So I put up with the pullups. Last weekend after several dry days I convinced him to try underwear to bed. That lasted all of an hour, before he came out and said he peed a little in his underwear and wanted a pullup. (He hadn’t, but clearly he was nervous). So I caved. I told him he won’t be able to go on sleepovers until he can get rid of the pullups. He hasn’t even been invited to one yet, so that doesn’t seem like much incentive. So for now, I am wasting untold bucks on these stupid pullups, to preserve my sleep.

While I’m at it, I will confess that this same kid walks all to way down to our bedroom with increasing frequency to tell us he had a bad dream. My husband lets him climb into bed with us for the rest of the night rather than walking him back upstairs. I confess, with our huge bed, I don’t mind this one little bit. In fact, I like a little cuddling with my gigantic child.

Ok second confession. My two year old does not eat. He is the WORLD’s pickiest eater. Determined not to be a short order cook, I keep putting the same dinner we are eating in front of him and he has refused to touch it at all many many many nights. I cannot think of a single veggie (french fries are NOT a veggie) that he will put in his mouth. Not even spaghetti sauce. Even fruit now, is untouchable. NOTHING. He used to eat all kinds of things, bananas, peas, apples, steak. No more. Waffles, pancakes and crackers, that’s it. I had a minor victory this week when he ate a peanut butter with sprinkles sandwich…on cinnamon bread. Seriously people. It’s chicken nuggets all the way. I have limited his snacking. I have limited his juice and milk intake. Nothing seems to help. I just keep telling myself it’s a 2 year old control issue and a phase that hopefully he will outgrow, but man do I feel like somewhere I failed.

11 responses to this post.

  1. >I had the same 2 yr old. NO MEAT. NO VEGGIES. It was terribly frustrating — and only just now at 3 1/2 is he eating a chicken nugget. But only a SPECIFIC chicken nugget. And I've learned to make certain new foods "magical" for him. Edamame = Treasure Beans! Because you have to SEARCH for the beans.Seriously. That's what it's come to. Ridiculous.Hang in there — the corner where it all turns is coming. Promise! 🙂

    Reply

  2. >My three year old is going through his not eating stage and it is just that. A stage. Some nights he wins and others We win.

    Reply

  3. >In both cases, they are phases. We had the nighttime visits but they have ceased now.Plus I caught you in a lie. My 8 year old is the pickiest eater, not your little guy. Thing is there is hope. I was a fussy eater and now will eat anything. I just took twenty years.

    Reply

  4. >We all have those parenting moments where we feel like a gigantic FAIL. I am a picky eater (its a texture thing) so I was determined not to raise picky eaters. We serve one thing for dinner. If the girls chose not to eat, that's their decision. They won't starve. We insist that they try everything (# of bites for each year,ie. 3 bites for 3 year old), that usually gets us past the icks and yuks. They eat everything we do. Period. But, you pick your battles based on each kid and do the best you can. Good luck.

    Reply

  5. >UGH. The eating thing is stressful. Keep doing what you're doing though. I think you're doing the right thing. Just give him a variety of healthy foods and he will eventually learn to eat them and even like them, I do believe that. But I know that in the meantime, it's really disconcerting.As far as the pullups are concerned, I have a friend whose daughter was in pullups till she was 6 but she finally outgrew the need for them. There's hope! 🙂

    Reply

  6. >kids won't starve themselves. for the pullups, do your best to reassure him and build his confidence.

    Reply

  7. >By the way, we just got Isaac out of pull-ups. he still has accidents, but I've been told about double sheeting the bed, with a waterproof mat in between, is the best way to deal with the late night sheet issue. I've also been known to lay a towel down over the sheet (we have waterproof mattress pads as well) until the next morning.The think with two-year-olds is that they often don't eat much to begin with, I'd just keep at it, and if he doesn't eat much at night, make sure you don't give him his favorite bready meal in the morning….as he'll just fill up on it. Give him fruit or yogurt…something equally as healthy. Simon's not eating all that well right now either, and is def my most picky eater of the three at this age. I think William hit it on the head, sometimes they win, sometimes we do. Hang in there!

    Reply

  8. >I think the 2 year old not eating is not a problem. As long as he keeps growing you are just fine. He wll eat again when he is hungry.And who cares about the pullups at night. I wore them when i was preggo. You do what you have to do to make life functionable!It will all work out in the end! You rock! Oh and we let our 15 month old sleep with us too, and have no plans of making her stop.

    Reply

  9. >I think the 2 year old not eating is not a problem. As long as he keeps growing you are just fine. He wll eat again when he is hungry.And who cares about the pullups at night. I wore them when i was preggo. You do what you have to do to make life functionable!It will all work out in the end! You rock! Oh and we let our 15 month old sleep with us too, and have no plans of making her stop.

    Reply

  10. >Well I am not at all qualified to offer parenting advice, but I will anyway.When my brother was little (and I don't think Pull-Ups existed yet), my mom would get him out of bed around midnight and kind of sleep walk him to the bathroom, stand him in front of the toilet, and have him go. (She worked until 11pm, so she would just do this when she got home, before going to bed – not sure how feasible this would be for you.)As for the picky eating, I know a kid who for a long time would eat only Cheez It crackers. That was it. He's 10-12 years old now, so it looks like he survived :o)

    Reply

  11. >My two year old refuses to eat dinner. Actually, neither do my older kids

    Reply

Leave a Reply

