>WFMW – Beach Family Portraits

>

works for me wednesday at we are that family

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, in less than two weeks my family is headed “back home” to Philly for our annual vacation.  We will spend a couple of days at my mom’s beach house in Bethany Beach, DE, which is where I will attempt to take our annual beach family portrait.  This will be the fifth year in a row I’ve done this very purposefully, and I think the results improve each year.  So if you want to try this yourselves, here are my tips.

Pick as deserted a beach as possible.  We like Delaware State Park beach (I forget the exact name) that is south of Bethany, in a non-commercial area.  It’s worth the short drive to get as few people in our backgrounds as possible…less photoshopping them out!

Go an hour before sunset.  The golden hour, as it is known among photographers, gives by far the best light.  I have had a few issues with timing this and getting the light but not having to squint from staring straight into the sun.  But when it’s just right, the golden glow is gorgeous. (Say that five times fast!)

Coordinate your clothing.  I’m not a big fan of all white, but sometimes it looks nice in beach pics.  I really loved the french blues we did a couple years ago.  I haven’t decided what we’ll try this year yet 🙂  Avoid busy prints, especially stripes!  You don’t all have to match, but coordinating looks much better than clashing!

Bring another person who can shoot or use a tripod with a remote trigger.  Nikon cameras have a great little wireless remote that I use…it’s less than $20.  But be warned, your tripod will get messed up with sand, so if possible use a cheapo, backup tripod.

Just a few tips to help!  I may add a few additional tips next week…there’s so much more I could say.

8 responses to this post.

  1. >Our photographer does beach shoots each year and the turqouise colors popped so well this year, see http://www.chubbyfoot.com. I love them. Even though I am an amateur photog, I gleefully pay for Mackenzie to shoot us every couple of years-takes all the pressure off!

    Reply

  2. >Great photos! I am visiting through iFellowship – it's nice to "meet" you 🙂 -Angela http://homemadewisdom.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  3. >Thanks for joining us at iFellowship today – we always love having you around. Can't wait to get to know you and your blog better.Meghanwww.thetuckerstaketennessee.comwww.seedsoffaithwomen.com

    Reply

  4. >Nice pics!

    Reply

  5. >Thanks so much for this – we are going on a whole family (25+) vacation in September – you're tips are filed away fro future use!*Blessings*LIB

    Reply

  6. >We go to the same State Park in Delaware. Is it Henlopen? We love it because it isn't that busy. New to your blog. I am from Lancaster City – not far from Philly. Are you no longer in Philly?

    Reply

  7. >Hello! Popping in from iFellowship at Seeds of Faith Women! Hope you find time to stop by Homemaker Honey and say, "G'Day!"Enjoy this day the Lord had made!DeborahHomemaker Honeyhomemakerhoney.com

    Reply

  8. >What wonderful photos of your family- I love all of the smiles!!Jessica

    Reply

Leave a Reply

