>Top Ten Favorite Christmas Songs

>

I know I am probably not at all alone in posting a list like this today, let alone this week or month. But I can’t help myself, I adore Christmas music. Black Friday my Christmas CDs come out with the rest of my decorations, and I fire up the Holiday iPod playlist. The car radio is permanently set on KSBJ playing all Christmas music, all month long. I do miss going to a church where we sang four or five traditional carols every single Sunday in Advent, but I like that we have an event called Christmas Cafe every year where I get my fill of great seasonal performances. I’m totally jealous that my grandparents went to the Houston Symphany Pops Orchestra concert last weekend, which undoubtedly had breathtaking Christmas music.

So I give you my somewhat unique list of favorite holiday tunes, along with the artist whose rendition I like the best. Maybe you’ll find something new and enjoyable in this list.

1. Come Thou Long Expected Jesus – Kyle Cantrell

2. Gather Round, Ye Children Come – Andrew Peterson

3. Come and See – Olivette (This whole album is simply beautiful)

4. Comfort Ye – Daniel Renstrom

5. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear – Sara Groves (Totally unique and gorgeous version)

6. All Creation Sing (Joy To the World) – Fee

7. We Wish You a Merry Christmas – Weezer (One of these things is not like the others…)

8. 2000 Miles – The Pretenders

9. Here With Us – Joy Williams

10. O Holy Night – BarlowGirl

So tell me YOUR favorites? Pretty please?

This post courtesy of:

Top Ten {Tuesday}

20 responses to this post.

  1. >Fun! I did a list like this last year–Christmas Albums You Probably Don't Own But Should! :)I LOVE Andrew Peterson's album and this year I am totally digging Barlow Girl. They can sing!

    Reply

  2. >Great list! I love Christmas music, too, and was going to do a list like this next week. ;0) Hope you don't think I stole your idea. I did classic Christmas movies this week.

    Reply

  3. >I've been listening to Casting Crowns Peace On Earth album in the car. I really love their version of I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day (which is a Christmas song that I generally don't otherwise like)…

    Reply

  4. >We actually sang THEIR version in church a couple weeks ago. Frankly, I like listening to the song a lot but found it odd to sing in church.

    Reply

  5. >Old Toy Trains is one of my favorite Christmas songs. 🙂

    Reply

  6. >The Wexford Carol. I just discovered it this year, and Allison Krauss does some gorgeous singing of this ancient carol.

    Reply

  7. >Carol of the Bells… my absolute favorite Christmas song.

    Reply

  8. >Josh Groban's Noel is beautiful. But, I guess my favorite would be Harry Connick, Jr singing Ave Maria. Ave Maria is one of my favorite songs; Harry's one of my favorite artists, it just makes me happy.

    Reply

  9. >Angus Deo on the Amy Grant Album. I told Elizabeth it was how the angels sing in heaven and now we "practice singing with the angels" every day in the car.

    Reply

  10. >Thank you so much for connecting with our music! Blessings to you and your family – Matt and Cameron Hammon, aka Olivette

    Reply

  11. >I get to see Andrew Peterson in concert tonight! Woohoo!

    Reply

  12. >I will be sure and check yours out, as I said at the beginning of my post, I know this is not a unique idea.

    Reply

  13. >I don't know that one!

    Reply

  14. >Everything Allison Krauss does is gorgeous 🙂

    Reply

  15. >Yep, that's a good one!!

    Reply

  16. >I don't have either of those, and now I must go download them. They sound perfect!

    Reply

  17. >Is that on her first Xmas album or her second one? I can just see Elizabeth singing it in the car with you. I miss you guys.

    Reply

  18. >Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment here, I'm honored. I really do love the album, it was suggested to me by Robbie Seay and I always love what he suggests 🙂

    Reply

  19. >Oh this is fantastic! I really needed some new music for Christmas. I wish I had some to share with you. I haven't found anything new since 1995. I need to catch up! Lisa~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

